The Stegall Foundation annually presents a “Church of The Year Award” to honor a church showing faithful commitment to the mission of the foundation. The 2022 recipient of this award is Stewart UniRev. Michael Cobb accepts the award of behalf of Stewart UMC.ted Methodist Church in Hale County, Alabama. Stewart UMC was founded in 1884 when a farming couple, Charles and Sarah Stewart, donated an acre of land on which to build a church. Since that one room church was founded, the faithful members at Stewart have expanded and now have a beautiful fellowship hall.

Stewart has a heart for missions at home and around the world. They have built homes for Habitat for Humanity, and provided furnishings for a church in Honduras. They have sent mission teams to the Henderson Settlement in Kentucky and to the Hinton Rural Life Center in North Carolina.

Since the inception of our scholarship foundation in 2007, this small membership church has ranked among the top 10 churches within the entire Alabama-West Florida Conference in their financial support of our seminary students. Their strong pastor, Rev. Michael Cobb, has provided strong leadership for this mission-minded church. The board of directors is delighted to recognize the Stewart United Methodist Church!